Join The Council

Explore the benefits of membership by joining the New York State Council of School Superintendents.

Dr.  Mary Barter was an exceptional educational leader during a time when few women held the title of superintendent. The scholarship was initiated to inspire and promote more diversity for those interested in the field of educational leadership. The Dr. Mary Barter Scholarship was renamed to honor Dr. Mary Barter, the first female president of New York State Council of School Superintendents.

2021 Scholarship Recipient

This year the scholarship will be awarded to Mrs. Rebekah K. Stoll, Family and Consumer Science Teacher at Valley Central HS, Valley CSD for her leadership and work showcasing the talents of her students through international food events and fashion shows.

Her work with the Valley Central Mental Health Coalition and as an advisor to the High School‘s W.I.S.E. (We Inspire Strength and Empowerment) Club has also shown her leadership potential. She believes in teaching the whole child.

Mrs. Stoll is in her first year of graduate study of Educational Leadership at Long Island University.

The scholarship will be presented at the Tuesday Morning Keynote on March 9th at The Council's 2021 Virtual Winter Institute & Lobby Day. Special thanks to Signature Partner BBS Architects, Landscape Architects & Engineers, P.C for their generous support of this scholarship program. 

Scholarship Process 

The scholarship is awarded annually in the amount of $2,000, and presented to those individuals enrolled in a graduate study program through which the School District Administrator or Doctoral Degree may be awarded. It is presented at our Winter Institute & Lobby Day.

The Dr. Mary Barter Scholarship Committee, composed of active superintendents, screens all applications against selection criteria and reviews credentials for selection of one candidate in January of each year. Applicants must be nominated by an active superintendent of The Council by sending a nomination form to Deidre Hungerford. The nomination deadline was on Monday, January 4, 2021 for the 2021 award. Candidates were then responsible for sending all required documentation and the completed application for the award by January 18, 2021.

Criteria for Selection
  1. The scholarship was created to encourage diversity among educational leaders and those individuals are eligible to submit an application. Practicing school superintendents are not eligible.
  2. Must show promise for success as a school administrator as evidenced by the quality of the candidate’s education, experience, and references.
  3. Must exhibit promise for leadership as demonstrated by previous success in an administrative or supervisory role (e.g., a teacher who has demonstrated leadership activities, such as a department chairperson).
  4. Must display readiness to assume an administrative role in the field of education and the likelihood that the candidate will serve in the superintendency during his/ her career.
  5. Must be currently enrolled in a graduate study program leading to the School District Administrator or Doctoral Degree.
For details or to nominate a candidate contact:

Deidre G. Hungerford
Associate Director for Business Development

T:  518.694.4885

Twitter: @deehungerford28 #NYSCOSSWell

2021 Fall Leadership Summit 

Saratoga Hilton & Saratoga Springs City Center
Saratoga Springs, NY 

September 26-28, 2021

Hear from experts in the fields of leadership and education while strengthening connections with educational organizations,
state leaders, strategic partners, and each other to navigate the challenges to better the lives of students.

More information and registration details coming soon!