The Council of School Superintendents

Topic Search

Membership Benefits

Join Now! Sign-In

Membership Benefits

Join Now! Sign-In

Topic Search


The Raymond R. Delaney Memorial Scholarship

Congratulations to Judith LaRocca, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction at Valley Stream UFSD Thirteen in Valley Stream, NY who received the 2018 Raymond R. Delaney Memorial Scholarship.

Judy was nominated by her Superintendent Constance Evelyn because of her significant contributions to building the capacity of Nassau County School Districts through her work at Nassau BOCES and for her exemplary educational leadership capabilities at Valley Stream UFSD. She led the Valley Stream’s Curriculum and Instruction Committee through the review and adoption of new English Language Arts program; revised the APPR and Academic Intervention Services plan; and implemented the new Math in Focus program in her first year.

In her second year, she rolled out a new ELA program and made sure the new science programs aligned with the standards. She truly understands the impact of effective data analysis and instructional leadership and its power to motivate teachers to act in the best interest of students. 

Judy has a Certificate of Advanced Study in School District Administration and a master’s degree in Liberal Arts Studies both from SUNY Stony
Brook. She is currently enrolled in the Doctoral Program in Administration and Supervision at St. John’s University.

The award was presented on Monday morning, September 24 at The Council's 2018 Fall Leadership Summit by Executive Director Charles Dedrick, The Council; Brian Saville, Resident Senior Vice President at Utica National Insurance Group; Superintendent Constance Evelyn, Valley Stream; Council President Lorna Lewis, Plainview-Old Bethpage; and Distinguish Service Chair William Johnson, Superintendent, Rockville Centre. The award was sponsored by Signature Partner Utica National Insurance Group. 

The Selection Process

The Raymond R. Delaney Memorial Scholarship was inaugurated during the centennial year of The Council in 1983 in honor of "100 Years of Educational Leadership" and in 1990 renamed the Raymond R. Delaney Annual Memorial Scholarship in memory of a past president of The Council.

The Utica National Insurance Group, a strategic partner of The Council, serves as the sponsor. The scholarship is awarded annually to one individual enrolled in a graduate study program through which a School District Administrator Certificate or Doctoral Degree may be earned.

Applicants must be nominated by an active superintendent of The Council and send a nomination form.pdf to The Council's office no later than June 10, 2019. Candidates are responsible for sending all required documentation by July 19, 2019.

The Distinguished Service Committee, composed of current Council presidents and past presidents who are active superintendents, screens all applications and reviews credentials for selection of one candidate.

If you would like to nominate a candidate for this scholarship contact Deidre Hungerford, Associate Director for Business Development at For more information, you can also call Deidre at (518) 694-4885.