The Council of School Superintendents

Topic Search

Membership Benefits

Join Now! Sign-In

Membership Benefits

Join Now! Sign-In

Topic Search


2020 Appreciation Award Winners

Congratulations to Dr. Luvelle Brown, Superintendent, Ithaca City and Dr. L. Oliver Robinson, Superintendent, Shenendehowa CSD who were both selected to receive The Council's Appreciation Award. The award was established to recognize an active member’s efforts on behalf of The Council and its initiatives. 

View the entire presentation at the 2020 Winter Institute!

Dr. Luvelle Brown, Superintendent, Ithaca City School District

Dr. Brown currently serves as co-chair of The Council’s Commission on Diversity and Inclusivity. As a founding member of the Commission, he has been one of the driving forces behind the Commission’s work at the state and national level. Luvelle is also a member of The Council’s LEAF Board of Directors and has served as a member of the Executive Committee.

Over the last two years, he has presented numerous programs about the Commission’s efforts, including The Council’s New Superintendents Institute and regional diversity workshops and conferences. He was also our 2017 New York State Superintendent of the Year.  

Luvelle and his district have also hosted the Commission’s Symposium of Thought Leaders for the past two summers, gathering more than 500 participants from the state to further the conversation on diversity in schools.

Dr. L. Oliver Robinson, Superintendent, Shenendehowa Central School District

Dr. Robinson is also a founding member of the Commission on Diversity and Inclusivity. In addition, as co-chair of The Commission he speaks about its important work at regional events and events at school districts.

He has shared the Commission’s efforts at the national level and statewide has attracted more and more people to be involved with the Commission. 

Oliver served as The Council’s President from 2009-2010 and in 2013 was named the New York State Superintendent of the Year. He also participates actively on our conference committee. 

He was also a past member of the Governing Board of AASA and was recently approved to be the Vice President of the New York State Teacher’s Retirement Systems’ Board. Oliver is a true equity champion for all students.

This year’s awards were sponsored by our Signature Partner SEI Design Group and were presented at the 2020 Winter Institute & Lobby Day's opening keynote session. 

The Selection Process

The Appreciation Award is given in recognition of an active members' efforts on behalf of The Council and its initiatives. Individuals can be nominated by a colleague in the field of education or by an active member of The Council. The award is given at our Winter Institute each year.

Nomination letters are written by members or staff of The Council and sent in January, prior to the Winter Institute, for inclusion in the selection process. The Distinguished Service Committee, composed of current Council presidents and past presidents who are active superintendents, makes the final selection.

For a complete list of past award winners, please go here!

If you would like to nominate a candidate for the Appreciation Award, complete the Award Nomination Form or email Deidre Hungerford, Associate Director for Business Development, at with your recommendation. For more information, you can call also Deidre at (518) 694-4885.